Working Women Tell How They Manage Work And Home Life

Being a grown-up and trying to be organized in life is challenging, especially with a full-time job. Add in a pet, a kid, caring for a loved one or working more than one job and it’s a million times harder. A Reddit thread digs into this whole work-life balance thing by asking, “Women who work full time, how do you use your time effectively on your days off and still find time to relax or have fun?”

Just in case you feel like you’re the only one struggling to get everything done, these women’s responses will reassure you that you’re definitely not.

  • “I prioritize relaxing on my days off, keep a running list of chores that need to be done, and don't make myself do more than a few of them each weekend.”
  • “The one major housekeeping tip I can give is to just put stuff away as soon as you’re done using it. If everything is where it’s supposed to be, there’s no mad dash to find anything or waste an afternoon putting everything back. It keeps the house pretty clutter-free and makes the rest of the housekeeping much easier to do.”
  • “Meal planning has really helped. I sit down once a week, plan the menu and grocery list, and shop for the whole week. I try to utilize the Crock Pot as much as possible, so I can come home to a hot meal. I try to run most errands after work to save time driving and not go on days off. I try to take one day where I just don’t leave the house.”
  • “WFH was a game-changer, to be honest. Total new lease on life. More energy for myself, for the kids.”
  • “I balance this really convoluted mix of crippling guilt and the ability to compartmentalize like a boss. By compartmentalizing, I mean that I am able to float in and out of spectacularly deep denial. Deep like a harrowing gulch at the bottom of the ocean.”
  • “I struggle with procrastinating when I’m not working on the weekends because, after a long week, all I wanna do is sit on the couch. So I’ve taken to setting a timer for 30 minutes, and doing as many tasks as I can in that time.”
  • “I don’t have kids.”
  • “I work 50–56 hours a week, have eight-year-old twins, several high-maintenance pets to care for, and I am 12 weeks pregnant. My house looks like a tornado has gone through it … Pick your battles. Mental health and family are everything — social media lifestyles are not.”

Source: Reddit

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content